RU / Day 1 / 16:00 / Track 1

REST API was good for its time, as well as Swagger. But nowadays everybody talks about component approach, so in 2018 back-end developers should really take a look at GraphQL. In fact, it's a new standard of super comfortable API for front-end developers and their component approach. But front-end developers' meat could become poison for unprepared back-end developers.

In this talk we'll discuss things that back-end developers should pay attention to. Which parts GraphQL Server consists of — there are lots of packages in the internet, so it would be good to know what we should install and, more importantly, why. What is schema and how to write it for the whole thing to work. We'll talk about authorization, about how to write a simple ACL. We'll address the issues of performance and safety. We'll delve into file loading, schema generation, documentation, and see if all is good with the API versioning.

This talk will be useful for junior, middle and senior developers alike, whether you are already using GraphQL or just sizing up this promising technology.

Download presentation.

Pavel Chertorogov

Developer of Internet products, OSS maintainer. Since 2001 the main specialization is web technologies. Has extensive practical knowledge on backend/frontend development, administration, analytics and digital marketing. Since the end of 2015, the main focus is on isomorphic applications. In summer 2016 began the development of graphql-compose in open source.

RU / День 1 / 16:00 / Зал 1

Комментарий Программного комитета:

Павел работает с GraphQL около 4 лет, является автором graphql-compose и действительно знает, как делать с GraphQL безумно крутые штуки. Готовясь к HolyJS, он собрал материала на книгу с небольшим, мы отобрали самые сливки из этого. Никаких интродакшнов! Только глубокие кейсы.

REST API был хорош для своего времени и Swagger тоже. Кругом все обсуждают компонентный подход, поэтому в 2018 году бэкендерам сильно пора задуматься о GraphQL. По факту это новый стандарт мега-удобного API для фронтендеров и их компонентного подхода. Но что фронтендеру хорошо, то может стать болью для неподготовленного бэкендера.

В докладе рассмотрим моменты, о которых стоит задуматься бэкендеру. Из каких кусочков собирается GraphQL-сервер: в интернетах уже много пакетов, хорошо бы понять, что необходимо установить и, самое главное, зачем. Что такое схема и как ее написать, чтобы все это дело зашуршало. Рассмотрим авторизацию, написание примитивного ACL. Затронем вопрос производительности и безопасности. Разберем тему загрузки файлов, генерации схем, документирования и всё ли хорошо с версионированием API.

Доклад будет полезен разработчикам любого уровня, как уже использующим GraphQL, так и присматривающимся к данной перспективной технологии.

Скачать презентацию.

Павел Черторогов

Разработчик интернет-продуктов, опенсорс-мейнтейнер. С 2001 года основная специализация — веб-технологии. Обладает обширными практическими знаниями по бэкенду, фронтенду, администрированию, аналитике и продвижению. С конца 2015 года делает основной упор на изоморфные приложения. Летом 2016 начал разработку graphql-compose в опенсорсе.